What an Honor! Top 25 Newsmaker in Engineering News Record for 2011


ENR's Top 25 Newsmakers of 2011

I have recently been named as one of the top 25 Newsmakers for 2011 by Engineering News Record (ENR) magazine.  This is the largestl publication for the construction industry, and I am humbled and honored to be on the list with 24 very distinguished honorees.  I want to thank my wife, Andrea, who now is my partner in these leadership programs.  Also, Kate Cannon, my EI mentor.  Also, to all of the companies and participants who have embraced this work with emotional intelligence, I give my sincere thanks.  I have learned much more from you than you have learned from these programs.

My mission statement is to help transform the construction/engineering industry.  We must find a different way of working.  The industry cannot sustain itself with this present business model and culture.  It is my fervent hope that we can find a better way to work together, to be more collaborative, to strive to bring the human element into everything we do.  And, as a result, my gut feeling tells me that the business end of that equation will create much more profit for all concerned.

Here is an excerpt from my book, The People Profit Connection, written specifically for the construction industry.  I think it sums it up pretty well:

“If companies begin to realize that people are their most precious resource, if they are willing to take a chance and use this incredible tool called emotional intelligence, they will begin to hire the right people, nurture them, promote their personal development, give them direction for their careers, plan for succession, decrease turnover rates, and increase retention. In addition, this will facilitate increased customer service, teamwork, and productivity. In turn, accidents, stress, and burnout will decrease. Their employees will be healthier, happier, and more productive. Companies that embrace this work will improve the industry image so that young people will flock to our ranks, and our sons and daughters will carry on this proud tradition of contracting. What’s the alternative? If we let things continue as they are, the industry may be in trouble. Our inaction could cripple construction, but our focus on people will lead us to lasting solutions.”

See the article from Engineering News Record here:

http://enr.construction.com/people/awards/2012/0123-The-Top-25-Newsmakers.asp

Leave a Reply

