Things My Dog Taught Me: Don’t Ever Believe What People Say About You


  This is my 15 year old dog, Ginger.  My wife lured her into the house with steak 13 years ago.  She has been a great dog and I have learned much from her.  One day, we found a small yellow lump on her right front paw and she was diagnosed with mast cell cancer.  We had the mast cell tumor removed and the vet oncologist told us that mast cell cancer was very aggressive in Shar Peis and that if we didn’t do chemo and radiation that she would be dead in 30 to 90 days.  In addition to that, Shar Peis are only supposed to live to age 10.

We did not do the chemo or radiation because of her age.  We treated with alternative healing methods.  We focused on diet, exercise, energy work, herbal therapies, Tongren, positive thinking, and a lot of love.   That was three years ago last May.

So what is keeping Ginger alive and well?  I’m sure the therapies and the love help, but the amazing thing, and the one main thing that has kept her alive is her extremely strong spirit.  This dog’s spirit is palpable.  She is headstrong and willful and powerful.  Despite receiving a death sentence over three years ago, she endures.  She not only endures, she thrives. She still loves her walks.  She is still extremely motivated by food (we have that in common).  She loves her life.  Although my wife and I were full of fear from Ginger’s diagnosis, it didn’t faze her in the least.  Dogs aren’t wired that way.  She just keeps going with a strong will and an energy that takes her through whatever is in front of her.  She didn’t believe what the vet oncologist said. She didn’t buy into our fear.  She just kept going.

She is the dog version of Lance Armstrong, coming back strong when everyone counted her out.

I recently watched The Big Lebowski, one of my favorite movies.  In the final scene, the cowboy tells the Dude to, “Take it easy”.  And the Dude replies, “The Dude abides.”  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TE_oIIIwWl0

The next time someone hands you a bad health report or an unfair criticism or a personal attack, don’t believe it.  Dig down deeply into your own strength and spirit and just abide.   More on what my dog taught me in the next blog.

18 Responses to Things My Dog Taught Me: Don’t Ever Believe What People Say About You

  1. Ken Godsey says:

    Great stuff Brent ! Thanks. Its been a tough year for me this year, not good news on the health front, not cancer, but cronic, its been enlightning. Positive thinking, a lot of prayer and a LOT of love from my family and some really great friends have helped me get through it. Bless you Brother ! Your old friend Kenny ( Godsey )
    p.s. Our two dogs, Dixie & Bear have been really encouraging.

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

  3. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping
    you write again very soon!

  4. Hi I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  5. vin diesiel says:

    I like it when people come together and share thoughts.
    Great website, stick with it!

  6. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this web
    site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

  7. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article!
    It’s the little changes that make the most important changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  8. Hello there! I simply want to offer you a
    huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post.
    I will be returning to your website for more soon.

  9. Franklyn says:

    You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who
    aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  10. Preston says:

    I think the admin of this web site is really working hard in support of his site,
    as here every stuff is quality based stuff.

  11. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  12. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

Leave a Reply

