The Miracle Workers of Construction


construction

 

Recently, I had the pleasure of visiting some projects of one of my very favorite clients, and I have to say, it was a moving experience.  When I was a kid, my dad would take me and my three brothers to his projects.  I was wide-eyed and full of wonder at this miracle of construction.  Yes.  I said miracle.  It is a miracle.  Think about it.  There is no process on earth as complicated as a construction project.  The space shuttle isn’t as complicated as most construction projects.  There are a million parts and pieces with so many human beings putting their mark on it.  It’s amazing that anything gets built.  But it does, thanks to the hard work and dedication of the workers that actually put everything together.

They are the unsung heroes of the industry.  Many of them are struggling with finances, with workloads that limit time with their families, with health issues.  This very tough business has beaten them down physically over the years.  But there they are.  They show up every day.  They do their jobs without complaint.  They perform the day-to-day miracles that propel their projects toward completion.  I visited a particularly difficult retail project with an impossible completion schedule and little or no details on dozens of different rooms with completely different finishes.  As one Superintendent put it, “Well, here we are, pulling another rabbit out of the hat.”  And they did complete the project in time for the retailer to open.  Another magic trick executed to perfection.  Another miracle.  And when I point this out, they don’t see it as miraculous.  They are very humble about what they do.  They get so caught up in the day-to-day work, and they are so good at it, they don’t see it as extraordinary.  But I want all of you workers to know that what you do IS extraordinary.

So this blog is a salute to these unsung heroes and their families who have sacrificed so much.  You have my admiration and respect.  And if there is anything I can do to help you or any cause that you have, I’m here.  Please contact me and let me know what I can do.

Leave a Reply

